• Young American Award
  • Congressional Award Career
  • Achievement Award Program
  • Leadership Award Program
  • Adult Leaders Awards
  • Venturing Awards & Scholarships

    Homepage   Scholarship   Sitemap
  • Aviation
  • Fire service
  • Law
  • Skilled Trades
  • Other Scholarship

  • You will need Acrobat Reader to download and print these application forms.This free software may be downloaded from Adobe.


    Young American Award
    First presented in 1968, the award is given to young adults between the ages of 15 and 25 who have achieved excellence in the fields of art, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, literature, music, religion, science, or service and have been involved in service to their community, state, or country that adds to the quality of life. Each council selects and submits their top nominee for consideration for the five national awards.
    Congressional Award
    An adult advisor, whom you choose, helps you set challenging but a achievable goals in the four program areas. Once you've achieved your goals, you summarize them on a Recommendation Form. You'll receive a letter, which will let you know when your Senator and /or member of Congress will present you with your medal and certificate.
    Career Achievement Award Program
    The Learning for Life Career Achievement Award program allows young people to be recognized for community service and to acquire and be recognized for career proficiency achievement in either arts & humanities, aviation, business, communications, engineering, fire & emergency service, health, law & government, law enforcement, science, skilled trades, social services, or all 12 career clusters. It gives Explorers and student participants distinguished credentials for their resume.
    Leadership Award Program
    Leadership Award is given to youth and adults who have given exceptional dedication and leadership to the youth participants in either the Learning for Life or Exploring Program.


    William H. Spurgeon, III Award
    The William H. Spurgeon, III Award was developed in 1971 in honor of the man who is regarded as the major leader in the development of special interest Exploring. Mr. Spurgeon was a business executive at the Irvine Company in Southern California who personally organized many special interest posts in the 1960's. Mr. Spurgeon served for many years as a member of the National Council Executive Board and national Exploring Committee. His pioneering efforts led to the present contemporary Exploring Program. He devoted much of the late 1960's to promoting Exploring and is particularly remembered as a dynamic speaker for Exploring Impact Plan luncheons across America. Mr. Spurgeon passed away in 1970.
    Russell C. Hill Award
    The Russell C. Hill Award was established in 1999 to honor Hill's outstanding achievement in the character education field. Russell Chilton Hill was a prominent San Antonio, Texas businessman who spent much of his time and fortune in promoting Character Education based on his "Freedoms Code" which earned him the Freedom Foundation's Honor Medal. Hill made a pledge to fight for public support in the development of character in the youth of our nation. Learning for Life establishes this award to honor Hill's outstanding achievement in the character education field.


    Youth participating in the Exploring program may apply for the following scholarships:


    Comair Aviation Academy Scholarship (Aviation, 10/$1,000)
    Comair Aviation Academy offers (10) annual scholarships to encourage Aviation Explorers to enter and complete a curriculum that will lead to an exciting, well-paying career as a commercial pilot. One-half of the scholarship ($1000) will be presented upon one-half completion of the course (COMM/MEL) and the other half ($1000) presented upon completion of the course (CFI, CFI-I, MEI).
    Sporty's Pilot Shop Scholarship (Aviation, 2/$1,000)
    Sporty's Pilot Shop offers two annual $1,000 scholarships to encourage Aviation Explorers to enter and complete an aviation curriculum. Sporty's knows that aviation offers a variety of exciting, well-paying careers, and that qualified and motivated Aviation Explorers should be given encouragement and assistance in choosing a career in Aviation.
    Spartan School of Aeronautics (Aviation, 4/$2,000)
    Spartan School of Aeronautics offers four annual scholarships to encourage Aviation Explorers to enter and complete an aviation curriculum that will lead to an exciting, well-paying career in aviation as a professional pilot, aviation maintenance technician, avionics technician, or instrument technician.


    IAFCF Scholarship (Fire Service, $500)
    The International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation coordinates a yearly $500 scholarship program to assist Explorers in pursuing a career in the fire sciences.


    National Youth Representative Scholarship
    Law Enforcement Exploring will provide a scholarship to the outgoing National Youth Representative at the National Law Enforcement Conference.
    ATF Special Agents Scholarship (Law Enforcement, $1,000)
    The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF) Special Agents' offers scholarships the amount of $1,000. Scholarships are presented every even-numbered year to Law Enforcement Explorers
    Capt. James J. Regan Scholarship (Law Enforcement, $1,000)
    The National Technical Investigators Association presents two one-time $500 scholarships annually. Criteria include academic record, leadership, extracurricular activities, and a personal statement on "what significance I place on a technical background in law enforcement."
    DEA Drug Abuse Prevention Service Award (Law Enforcement, $1,000)
    The DEA Drug Abuse Prevention Service Award consists of an engraved plaque and a $1,000 award, which will be presented in recognition of "an act or actions representing a contribution of outstanding service in drug abuse prevention." For more information, see the workbook for this award.
    Federal Investigators' Service Award (Law Enforcement, $500)
    Federal Investigators Association recognizes Explorers who render outstanding service to law enforcement agencies with a $500 U.S. Savings bond and plaque.
    Floyd Boring Award (Law Enforcement, 2/$2,000)
    The director of the U.S. Secret Service presents two $2,000 scholarships annually to law enforcement Explorers whose achievements reflect the high degree of motivation, commitment, and community concern that epitomizes the law enforcement profession.
    Sheryl A. Horak Memorial Scholarship (Law Enforcement, $1,000)
    This merit-based award involves a $1,000, one-time scholarship. The award also includes a plaque and pin.
    Law Enforcement Exploring Community Crime Prevention Award
    The International Society of Crime Prevention Practitioners provides an annual recognition of Explorer posts that exhibit outstanding support of their communities. Includes a plaque and pin.
    Law Enforcement Exploring Proficiency Awards
    Provides an opportunity for posts and their Explorers to earn recognition in community service, crime prevention, law enforcement service, law enforcement training, firearms training, emergency preparedness, tenure and Explorer of the Year.


    AFL-CIO Skill Trades Scholarship (Skill Trades, $1,000)
    The AFL-CIO presents two $1,000 scholarships annually to Explorers to help them support their education toward a career in skilled trades.